Springfield Local Elementary

11419 Youngstown-Pittsburgh Rd.

New Middletown, Ohio 44442

Phone (330)542-3722

Fax (330)542-2488

From the Desk of Mr. Albanese

May 2019

 

Friends,

 

As we wind down the school year, there are a number of exciting days coming up in the month of May at SLES.  AIR testing for grades 3 and 4 has been completed.  Our 1st graders went to Living Treasures on their field trip on Wednesday May 1st and had a great time.   On Friday, May 3, we have early dismissal at 1:45PM.

 

Next week is teacher appreciation week, so let’s show our teachers how much we appreciate everything they do for us each day!  KG screening will be Tuesday, May 7 and Wednesday, May 8.  Call the ES office for an appointment.

 

We have 2 field trips this week, KG to Wagon Trails Thursday and 2nd grade to Mill Creek Park on Friday.  Hopefully we have some nice weather!  Also on Friday, the 3rd grade will be putting on their annual Mother’s Day Tea in the cafeteria.  It will begin at 1:45PM.

 

The PTO Chinese Auction will be held on Tuesday, May 14 and Wednesday, May 15 with the winners being drawn on Thursday, May 16.  Our KG parent meeting will be held on Tuesday, May 14 at 6PM in the cafeteria for all incoming kindergarteners and their parents.  The 3rd grade will go to Carnegie museum on the 15th.

 

Junior Olympics begins Monday, May 20 with our 4th grade classes.  Tuesday, grade 3 competes, Wednesday grade 2, and Thursday grade 1.  Friday May 24 will be Outdoor Education Day.

 

School is closed Monday, may 27 for Memorial Day.  Thursday, May 30 will be our 4th Grade Wax Museum beginning at 1:45PM and Friday, May 31 will be Let’s Move Day!

 

GO TIGERS!!